My Day Presenting On QVC

Last week I spent the day at QVC working as fashion guest presenter for the fabulous Los Angeles label Laundry by Shelli Segal. It turned out to be quite an eventful day so I thought I’d share my experience!

My first 40min slot was at 10am and I had to arrive 2xhrs before so I could A) have time to do my hair & make-up (VERY important!),  B) speak to the stylist about the running order of the coats I was talking about and C) speak to the QVC presenter about what will happen whilst we were live on air.

IMG_2274IMG_2265IMG_2271

 

 

 

 

 

The QVC building was extremely impressive, the foyer is vast and the green room (where the guests/models spend their time) is possibly the best I have been in!  Having a dressing room with everything you could wish for as a presenter was also a big highlight!

The collection of coats I was talking about were divine, high quality and had many key features which made it easier for me to talk about as I was already passionate about them. What I wasn’t expecting though was to be told just minutes before going on air that I would have 3x completely new coats to add to my collection!

IMG_2286 IMG_2291 copy

 
My debut show was with the lovely Kathy Taylor who was a true professional. She made my first show such a pleasure and it felt very much like we were just sitting having a coffee & a chat about coats – not talking in front of the multiple cameras, crew & thousands of viewers!  At one point Kathy mentioned going to the Fashion Awards & it took all my might not to start asking her about it!
We were on air for 40 minutes talking about 8x coats, which sounds a while but the time literally flew, and by the time I had got used to the format of the show it was time to finish.

IMG_2302 IMG_2298 copy

My second show at 7pm was with the QVC presenter Charlie Brook. This time I was scheduled to talk about 12x coats for 1 hour. I was fairly confident prior to the show as I really enjoyed myself on the first one and was excited to do another. What I wasn’t prepared for though was when things go wrong … on live TV!
The clasp on one of the coats coat I was talking about wouldn’t fasten properly as the label decided to get jammed in it, the zipper on another got stuck, the model tried to put the hood up on a coat that only had pillow collar, and my earpiece (that the producer/director talks to you with telling you what is happening & how much time you have left) kept falling out!  Of course as its live TV, you just have to deal with it, smile and keep going!
Knowing how professional & slick the crew are at QVC, I had a feeling the producer/director/editor would have seen everything going on & found a way to cut around it, but it certainly tested my presenting skills!

Regardless of the small mishaps, I had a fantastic time at QVC. The crew & presenters were friendly and efficient and it was fun to hear items selling out whilst I was talking about them on air.
Hopefully it won’t be too long till I’m back in the saddle!

FB: Alex Willis-Bray

One comment

  1. l’ll bet you handled it like a pro. How exciting to be on a live show. Nerve wracking, I imagine!

Leave a Reply

